Wednesday, January 10, 2018

39 :3-24.3 Rules, regulations defining the term "farm implement."

4.   The Department of Agriculture, in consultation with the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, shall adopt, pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), and within 180 days following the date of enactment of P.L.2015, c.292 (C.39:3-24.2 et al.), rules and regulations defining the term "farm implement." The definition of "farm implement" shall include, but is not limited to, tractors, hay wagons, and farm machinery.

   L.2015, c.292, s.4.

39 :3-24.2 Slow moving vehicle emblem

 3. a. The Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission shall design a slow moving vehicle emblem to be affixed to the rear of any motor vehicle, not for hire, used exclusively as a farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement, and any farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement drawn by a motor vehicle.  The chief administrator may charge a fee for the emblems not to exceed the actual cost of producing and distributing the emblems. The emblems shall be displayed in a manner prescribed by the chief administrator and shall be visible to other motorists when operated on the roadways of this State

   b.   The chief administrator shall adopt, pursuant to the "Administrative Procedure Act," P.L.1968, c.410 (C.52:14B-1 et seq.), and within 180 days following the date of enactment of P.L.2015, c.292 (C.39:3-24.2 et al.), rules and regulations necessary to effectuate the purpose of P.L.2015, c.292 (C.39:3-24.2 et al.), including, but not limited to, the standards and specifications for the design and placement of the slow moving vehicle emblems.

   c.   The chief administrator, in consultation with the Division of Highway Traffic Safety in the Department of Law and Public Safety, shall establish a Statewide educational campaign to promote roadway safety in rural areas of the State which shall include educating people on the laws concerning vehicles with slow moving vehicle emblems.

   L.2015, c.292, s.3.

39 :3-24 Farm tractors, traction equipment; registration; operation; emblem; fee revised 2015

(a) The chief administrator shall register farm tractors and traction equipment used for farm operation to travel upon the public highways. The fee for registration shall be $5 per annum, whether the registration is issued for the yearly period or only a portion thereof.  Traction equipment or farm tractors may draw farm machinery and implements while in transit from one farm to another without additional registration therefor.

   (b)   The chief administrator may register motor vehicles, not for hire, used exclusively as farm machinery or farm implements, to travel upon the public highways, from one farm, or portion thereof, to another farm, or portion thereof, both owned or managed by the registered owner of the vehicle or vehicles.  The fee for registration shall be $5 per annum, whether the registration is issued for a yearly period or only a portion thereof.  Any vehicle registered and any truck, van, sport utility vehicle, or similar vehicle registered pursuant to the provisions of R.S.39:3-25 may draw not more than one vehicle used exclusively on the farm and a vehicle so drawn need not be registered.  A vehicle registered pursuant to this section or R.S.39:3-25 may be used under contract with a municipality to remove snow upon a public highway.

   (c)   No vehicle registered pursuant to this section shall be operated on a public highway at any time from sunset to sunrise, except a vehicle being operated under contract with a municipality to remove snow or a vehicle equipped with proper safety lighting during the three hours before sunrise and the three hours after sunset.  Every vehicle registered pursuant to this section, when operated on a public highway, shall have means adequate to control the movement of, to stop, and to hold the vehicle on any up or down grade and shall be operated in accordance with uniform rules and regulations prescribed by the chief administrator.  The rules and regulations shall specify the coverings that may be used on the wheels of vehicles registered pursuant to this section; the days, hours, and conditions under which vehicles registered pursuant to this section can be operated; the circumstance under which escort vehicles shall be required; the distance that may be traveled upon the public highways, which shall not be less than 50 miles; and vehicle equipment or other requirements or restrictions as may be necessary to protect the safety of the users of the public highways.

   Motor vehicles, not for hire, which are used exclusively as farm tractors, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implements which cannot be operated at a speed in excess of 35 miles per hour shall not be required to be registered under this section.
 
   (d)   A slow moving vehicle emblem shall be affixed, in the manner prescribed by the chief administrator pursuant to section 3 of P.L.2015, c.292 (C.39:3-24.2), to the rear of any motor vehicle, not for hire, used exclusively as a farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement, and any farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement drawn by a motor vehicle when operated on the roadways of this State.  A motor vehicle, not for hire, used exclusively as a farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement or any farm tractor, traction equipment, farm machinery, or farm implement drawn by a motor vehicle shall not be operated on the roadways of this State unless a slow moving vehicle emblem is displayed in the manner prescribed by the chief administrator pursuant to section 3 of P.L.2015, c.292 (C.39:3-24.2).

   (e)   As used in this section, the term "sport utility vehicle" means any vehicle that is designed to be used both on and off roadways and is equipped with available all wheel drive and raised ground clearance.

   amended 1938, c.66, s.7; 1947, c.317; 1961, c.71, s.2; 1963, c.128, s.1; 1968, c.130, s.8; 1994, c.60, s.16; 1996, c.31, 1996, c.119, s.1; 2015, c.292, s.1.

39 :3-11.5a Renewal of certain documents by deployed military personnel, families

 1. a. Notwithstanding the provisions of any law to the contrary, any active duty member of any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States, and any person in the member's immediate family, may renew a driver's license, non-driver identification card, or motor vehicle registration certificate during the six months preceding the member's scheduled date of deployment to a location outside of New Jersey.

   b.   The driver's license or non-driver identification card of any active duty member of any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States, and any person in the member's immediate family, or the registration certificate of a motor vehicle registered to that person, shall remain valid upon demobilization or return from duty, for a period of no more than 90 days.  The chief administrator shall determine the appropriate documentation a person is required to possess for the driver's license, non-driver identification card , or motor vehicle registration to be deemed valid during this period.

   c.   A person renewing a driver's license, non-driver identification card , or motor vehicle registration pursuant to this section shall submit proof satisfactory to the chief administrator of the member's deployment to a location outside of New Jersey.

   d.   As used in this act, "immediate family" means a spouse, domestic partner, partner in a civil union, child, stepchild, or other person under the legal guardianship of the active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States.

   L.2015, c.299, s.1.
 

39 :3-11.1 License to person 16 years of age to drive motor vehicles in agricultural pursuits revised 2015

 1.   Any person, under seventeen years of age and not under sixteen years of age, may be licensed to drive motor vehicles in agricultural pursuits as herein limited; provided such person has, after successfully completing an approved minimum six-hour behind-the-wheel driver training course, passed an examination satisfactory to the chief administrator as to his ability as an operator.  The chief administrator, upon payment of the lawful fee and after he or a person authorized by him has examined the applicant and is satisfied of the applicant's ability as an operator, may, in his discretion, license the applicant to drive any motor vehicle which is registered under the provisions of R.S.39:3-24 and R.S.39:3-25.  The holder of an agricultural permit or license shall be subject to the applicable requirements, restrictions and penalties for special learner's permit holders, including the display of special learner's permit decals, provided under section 6 of P.L.1977, c.25 (C.39:3-13.2a); provided, however, the holder of an agricultural permit or license shall not be required to be accompanied by, and under the supervision of, a licensed motor vehicle driver of this State over the age of 21 in order to be permitted to operate a motor vehicle registered under the provisions of R.S.39:3-24 or R.S.39:3-25 for farm-related purposes.  Such registration shall expire on March thirty-first of each year terminating the period for which such license is issued. The annual license fee for such license shall be one dollar ($1.00), and is for the limited use herein provided, and is not to be used in the operation of any other vehicle and shall have the name of the licensee endorsed thereon in his own handwriting.  The holder of an agricultural license shall be entitled to a probationary driver's license upon attaining the age of 17 years and shall be subject to applicable restrictions and penalties in section 4 of P.L.1950, c.127 (C.39:3-13.4) as they pertain to a probationary driver's license holder.

   L.1942, c.324, s.1; amended 1983, c.403, s.8; 2001, c.420, s.5; 2009, c.38, s.4; 2015, c.79, s.1.

39 :3-10f Initial license, renewal, digitized color picture of licensee required; exceptions

 1.   In addition to the requirements for the form and content of a motor vehicle driver's license under R.S.39:3-10 and a probationary license issued under section 4 of P.L.1950, c.127 (C.39:3-13.4), on and after the operative date of P.L.2001, c.391 (C.39:3-10f4 et al.), each initial New Jersey license, each renewal of a New Jersey driver's license, and each probationary license shall have a digitized color picture of the licensee.  All licenses issued on and after January 1, 2000 shall be valid for a period of 48 calendar months.  However, the chief administrator may, at the chief administrator's discretion, issue licenses and endorsements which shall expire on a date fixed by the chief administrator.  The fee for those licenses or endorsements shall be fixed in amounts proportionately less or greater than the fee otherwise established. Notwithstanding the provisions of this section to the contrary, a person 70 years of age or older may elect to have a license issued for a period of two or four years, which election shall not be altered by the chief administrator.  The fee for the two-year license shall be $9, in addition to the fee for a digitized picture established in section 4 of P.L.2001, c.391 (C.39:3-10f4).  The chief administrator may, for good cause, extend a license and any endorsement thereon beyond their expiration dates for periods not to exceed 12 additional months.  The chief administrator may extend the expiration date of a license and any endorsement thereon without payment of a proportionate fee when the chief administrator determines that the extension is necessary for good cause.  If any license and endorsements thereon are so extended, the licensee shall pay upon renewal the full license fee for the period fixed by the chief administrator as if no extension had been granted.

   Each initial driver's license issued to a person under the age of 21 after the effective date of P.L.1999, c.28 (C.39:3-10f1 et al.) shall be conspicuously distinct, through the use of color and design, from the driver's licenses issued to persons 21 years of age or older. The chief administrator, in consultation with the Superintendent of State Police, shall determine the color and the manner in which the license is designed to achieve this result.  The license shall also bear the words "UNDER 21" in a conspicuous manner.  The chief administrator shall provide that, upon attaining the age of 21, a licensee shall be issued a replacement driver's license or a new license, as appropriate.  The fee for a replacement license shall be $5 in addition to the digitized picture fee.

   As conditions for the renewal of a driver's license, the chief administrator shall provide that the picture of a licensee be updated except that the chief administrator may elect to use a stored picture to renew a license for a period not exceeding four additional years for $18 in addition to the digitized picture fee.

   In addition to any other extension, the chief administrator shall allow a person to use a stored picture to renew a license for a period not exceeding one year if the person presents documentation by a licensed physician that the person is undergoing medical treatment for an illness and the treatment results in temporary changes to the person's physical characteristics.  The fee for this extension shall be $18 and the person shall not be required to pay the digitized picture fee pursuant to section 4 of P.L.2001, c.391 (C.39:3-10f4).

   Whenever a person has reconstructive or cosmetic surgery which significantly alters the person's facial features, the person shall notify the chief administrator who may require the picture of the licensee to be updated for $5 in addition to the digitized picture fee.

   Nothing in this section shall be construed to alter or change any expiration date on any New Jersey driver's license issued prior to the operative date of P.L.2001, c.391 (C.39:3-10f4 et al.) and, unless a licensee's driving privileges are otherwise suspended or revoked, except as provided in R.S.39:3-10, that license shall remain valid until that expiration date.

   Specific use of the driver's license and any information stored or encoded, electronically or otherwise, in relation thereto shall be in accordance with P.L.1997, c.188 (C.39:2-3.3 et seq.) and the federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994, Pub.L.103-322.  Notwithstanding the provisions of any other law to the contrary, the digitized picture or any access thereto or any use thereof shall not be sold, leased, or exchanged for value.

   L.1979, c.261, s.1; amended 1981, c.322, s.1; 1985, c.264, s.1; 1990, c.103, s.26; 1999, c.28, s.3; 2001, c.391, s.3; 2003, c.204, s.1; 2009, c.38, s.3; 2015, c.306.

39 :2A-43 "Mainland Memoriam Act."

   1. a. This act shall be known and may be cited as the "Mainland Memoriam Act."

   b.   As used in this section: 

   "Dealer" means any person engaged in the business of selling or leasing motor vehicles to consumers or other end users and licensed pursuant to R.S.39:10-19.

   "Motor vehicle" means the same as that term is defined in R.S.39:1-1.

   c. (1) The Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission shall create written informational material detailing the laws and conditions applicable to holders of special learner's permits, examination permits, and probationary driver's licenses and post the informational material on the official website of the commission.

   (2)   At the time of purchase or lease of a motor vehicle, a dealer shall provide, in a manner prescribed by the chief administrator, the written informational material created pursuant to paragraph (1) of this subsection to a person purchasing or leasing a motor vehicle from the dealer.

   L.2015, c.286, s.1.